The Speaking Contest for Hong Kong Students

Rational and effective communication is the cornerstone for social harmony and development. Having good communication skills, especially in school-based assessments, public examinations and university interviews, has become indispensable in meeting the different challenges in life. Under the circumstances, tailor-made oral training is vital for cultivating students’ mastery of different language skills in reading, writing, listening and speaking which are interdependent. Listening widens students’ range of vocabulary and fosters critical thinking skills which promotes speaking and writing skills. Speaking develops students’ ability to summarize and synthesize what they have learned, facilitating the development of thinking skills and writing skills. As students may have inadequate life experience or less confidence in public speaking, they usually find it challenging to respond eloquently to fulfill the public assessments requirements.

 

In response to students’ pressing needs to speak well, the first Speaking Contest for Hong Kong Students was held in 2006. Through the territory-wide contest, students can broaden their horizons, enhance their critical thinking, communication and social skills. A professional assessment report is provided for students to improve their communication skills so that students are in a better position to meet the standard of the public assessments requirements and social expectations.

 

Over 100,000 participants and nearly 350 primary and secondary schools have participated in our contests since the kick-off of our project in 2006. A research  which was done earlier shows that this contest has provided healthy competitions and a favorable learning environment, which has enabled students to learn from each other and further developed their speaking and group discussion techniques.

Highlights

  • Electronic online system allows real-time contest schedule
  • Electronic assessment system makes it possible to provide more appropriate feedback, instant Assessment Report and Certificate of Attendance.
  • Accepting application document via email should benefit the applicants by simplifying the application process.
  • In order to encourage students’ participation, financial assistance will be offered to participants with financial difficulties ($40 per item) continuously.

Professional Recognition

  • Over 100,000 participants and nearly 350 primary and secondary schools have participated our contests in the past nine years.
  • The contest offers 29 items (including English and Chinese sections) based on specific learning needs of participants to realise  their full potentials.
  • Questions and evaluative criteria of the contest are modeled on those of the public assessment (HKDSE), with adaptations made by professional educators and experts.
  • Judges are either in-service English teachers who are familiar with the HKDSE curricula or have been serving as examiners of public assessment, or professionals who have received relevant training.
  • Scholars, judges and representatives of participating schools jointly form an Arbitration Committee to ensure the contest is conducted in a fair, objective and open manner.
  • Detailed assessment reports will be provided on the day of the contest to show the students’ levels.
  • Certificates will be issued to acknowledge students’ participation.

Organiser

Project for Research and Development on Rational Communication

 

Project for Research and Development on Rational Communication (hereinafter referred as Plan) is a research and development programme conducted by The Education University of Hong Kong. It aims at enhancing students’ rational thinking and developing good citizenship through various collaborative research activities. Project Director Dr. FUNG Shu-fun, Associate Professor at the Faculty of Humanities in The Education University of Hong Kong, is responsible for planning and quality control to maintain professional standards.

Organiser

Rational Communication Educational Society

 

Rational Communication Educational Society (hereinafter referred as Society) is a local non-profit-making charitable organization (under Section 88 of the Inland Revenue Ordinance), which aims at promoting rational communication through collaborative research projects.

 

Dr. HO Man Sing, President of the Society is a former Associated Professor of the Department of Chinese Language, the Hong Kong Institute of Education and former Chinese subject panel chairman for secondary schools. He  had also worked as an overseas expert consultant for the Curriculum Planning and Development Division of the Ministry of Education, Singapore and external examiner for the Masters program in East China Normal University and Sichuan Normal University. Dr. Ho is currently the vice president of the Macau Chinese Language New Curriculum Research Group, a committee member of the Chinese Language Higher Education Association, the general secretary of the national volunteer teaching research of the Chinese Language Higher Education Association and the Chinese course consultant for various primary and secondary schools in Hong Kong. He has worked with more than two hundred schools in Hong Kong in the Joint Chinese Language Education Institution-School Partnership Scheme since 2004.

 

The Vice President of the Society, Dr. Alex NG (PhD in Language Education) is an experienced language educator. He has served in the Hong Kong Institute of Education, the Education Bureau and has worked as an educational publisher and a teacher in primary, secondary and international schools. He has an in-depth understanding of rational communication and language education.

善言巧論:全港學生口語溝通大賽

「善言巧論」是廿一世紀教育的新趨勢,舉凡校本評核、公開考試,以至大學入學面試等,無不增加口語溝通能力考核的比例。然而,口語訓練需要針對學生個別需要,作長期培訓方有成效。口語訓練直接影響著學生的讀寫能力。聽說讀寫能力的培養,彼此之間既有相對獨立性,又相互影響,相互促進。在聽的過程中,可以開拓知識,豐富詞彙,活躍思維,為說寫積累材料;而說的訓練,可以鍛煉學生的思維,培養學生的綜合能力,直接有助於寫作。再者,學生往往缺乏面對陌生群眾發言的經驗,容易啟齒為艱,難以充分回應公開評核的要求。

 

在2012年開始的香港中學文憑考試中,中文科聆聽、說話和綜合能力三份試卷,都跟聽說能力有莫大關係。然而,首屆中文科三級達標率只有49%,為四大核心科中最低。2013年,中文科三級達標率略有提升,達52.3%。至2014年,整體中文科成績,卻較2013年回落,達3級的比率下跌0.5個百分點,跌至51.8%。至2016年,取得第 3 級或以上的日校考生佔55.1%。

 

自2013/14學年開始,中文科卷四說話能力,只保留乙部「口語溝通」,每位考生依次先作 1分鐘的首輪發言,然後進入自由發言時間。每人發言時間平均只有3分鐘,惟這3分鐘之表現,卻佔中文科之總成績達14%。只有充分的訓練和增加實戰經驗,學生才能在考試中獲取更佳成績。故此,進行口語訓練及交流,是提昇語文能力的必要部份。

 

本計劃由熱心教育的學者及專業人士倡議,於2006年舉辦首屆「善言巧論:全港學生口語溝通大賽」。透過全港性的比賽,開廣學生的眼界,提升他們的思考、溝通和社交能力。同時配合專業而具鼓勵性的水準參照評核報告,有助教師指導學生持續改進個人的口語溝通技巧,使能充分回應殷切的社會期望。

 

過去的十屆比賽,超過十萬人次、近三百五十所中小學參與其中。根據專業意見調查結果顯示,學界普遍認為這個比賽平臺能提供良性的競爭機會及良好的學習氛圍,讓參賽同學互相觀摩切磋,對他們日後口語表達技能的發展有莫大幫助。

比賽特色

  • 持續優化比賽電子登入系統,提供最新比賽資訊。
  • 響應環保,採用電子報名方法,加快報名程序。
  • 參賽學校可登入系統,使用同校互調功能。
  • 持續使用比賽電子評分系統,提供更適切回饋。
  • 所有參賽同學會即場獲頒參賽證書及評核報告,以資鼓勵。
  • 為鼓勵學生參賽,賽會持續向合資格參賽者退回部份(每項目$40)參賽費用。
  • 專業認受

    • 過去十屆比賽獲超過十萬人次、逾三百五十所中小學支持。
    • 依學習需要,共設置29評核項目(中文及英文組),盡展學生所長。
    • 比賽題目由教育專家參照公開評核標準擬定,並由在職教師或已接受相關專業訓練人士擔任評判。
    • 採用五個表現等級,並邀請學者、評判及參賽學校代表聯合組成「仲裁委員會」,比賽評核更為客觀。
    • 賽後即時提供清晰的評核報告,反映學生的水準。
    • 賽會發出證書,認證參賽者的學習經驗。

    主辦機構

    理性溝通研究及發展計劃

    「理性溝通研究及發展計劃」(下稱計劃)為香港教育大學轄下之研究及發展計劃,旨在透過不同的合作及研究項目(下稱項目),全面提昇本港學生的理性思維能力,孕育良好公民素質。計劃總監馮樹勳博士為香港教育大學文學及文化學系(前中文學系)副教授,作計劃之教育及專業素質監控,確保符合專業水準。

    主辦機構

    理性溝通教育學會

    「理性溝通教育學會」為本港的非牟利慈善團體(香港稅務局第88章),旨在透過不同的合作及研究項目,弘揚理性溝通要義。

     

    學會主席何文勝博士曾任香港教育學院中國語言學系副教授、中學語文教師、科主任。曾為新加坡教育部課程發展處中文課程海外專家顧問;華東師範大學及四川師範大學碩士論文答辯委員。現任澳門中國語文新課程研究會副會長、中國高等教育學會語文教育專業委員會理事、中國高等教育學會語文教育專業委員會全國義務教育語文教學研究中心常務理事,香港多所中小學的語文課程顧問。自2004年起與超過二百間中小學合辦中國語文教育夥伴協作計劃。

     

    學會副主席吳智光博士為資深語文教育工作者,曾服務於香港教育學院、教育局、中小學及國際學校、教育出版機構,對理性溝通及語文教育皆有深入認識。